Marine Drive

My first stop was Marine Drive, for all those people who want to know how to get there, you could use google maps. Mumbai is very well connected thanks to the railways, no matter how much people whine about it. So if you are new to Mumbai, simply go to the nearest railway station. Buy yourself a ticket to Marine Drive. Hop on a train that goes to Churchgate as the last station, and right after the station called Churni Road, you shall find Marine Drive.

There are various exits to the station. I took the one leading right to the highway which served as a buffer between the station and Marine Drive. Now if you are a tourist, feel free to simply cross the road whenever there aren’t too many cars passing by. You shall be judged by passer by’s but worry not for they are being highly hypocritical.

Now I must confess, this isn’t the first time I was going there, and me making such a big deal about this is kind of lame. But nevertheless, it’s the one place where I always make plans of going to after going through some kind of ordeal. The wide open space, the blasts of wind, and walking on that parapet. It’s something else for me. However I should note that if you are going there for a “getaway from all the bullshit” experience, I suggest you go after 2.30pm because the heat is just going to ruin everything. Although you might develop this new found respect for the couples who stick it out through all of it (pun intended, if you swing that way) and have their hands wrapped around each other, exchanging sweat. Love does strange things to people.

Marine Drive itself is a very big stretch right next to the sea. Over 3kms long. So I obviously wasn’t going to walk the length of it. If I wanted that, I could have just gone to the gym or done some grocery shopping for mom. (Yes, I live with my parents; it’s not lame in India, jealous?).

Marine Drive is best known for its end point also known as Nariman Point. The couple density is even higher there. You can also find a lot of white people, sitting under the sun and enjoying themselves. We look at them like they are retards probably because if we did it, it would be the exact opposite of what our television networks advertise (*rolls eyes* who’d do that right?).

So this is what the end of Mumbai looks like. At night when all the lamps are lit, from this point you can see what is called the “Queens Necklace”. It’s a good sight. When I was sitting here, I noticed crabs emerging from beneath these tripods, and not the juicy red ones, the weird black ones. So yeah that is all I did here. So basically in the end, it’s definitely a must see. Choose your time well; get water because you won’t find any near about.

Written By

Devdeep Bag (Greenstuff)

Pics by Akshat Ayan.

Leave a comment